My best friend since college lost his daughter yesterday. She was stillborn.

This is as helpless a feeling as one can feel, I suspect. The two of them are grieving in their manner right now, in a way that I find beautiful, frankly, though they haven’t made much of that stuff public so I don’t know whether to say anything about it.

I just wanted to pass on a note saying how much I love their entire family, because I really don’t know what else to do. The old joke about everyone bringing food during a time of loss is holding true (he says they have more meals than they could possibly need all of a sudden) and he says they’re surrounded by love and it’s helping a little bit.

I don’t know if there’s any point to writing this, other than to make a tired point about loving your people with all you’ve got for as long as you’re allowed to do so.

Rest in peace, Miriam.

