Well, there are 13 of you. That’s got to be lucky for somebody, right?

Anyway, this is a fairly short-form challenge that nonetheless causes some of the players to obsess (or maybe therefore causes the players to obsess).

It’s called Fortunately, Unfortunately and it’s been in every game since my co-judge Ryan pitched it to me for Survivor III. Each judge will give you a starting line, and for each you’ll write a string of anywhere between six and twelve lines, starting alternately with the words “fortunately” and “unfortunately.” It’s easier to just show you one of my favorites from a past game; here’s one from Andy Rustleund in Survivor V:

I woke up, startled by the mooing in my bedroom.
Fortunately, I had my Moo-Detector 3000™ close at hand.
Unfortunately, it read “ZOMBIE”.
Fortunately, I had just a little Bovine Zombie Powder left in my pocket.
Unfortunately, my pants were across the room.
Fortunately, I’m my school’s record holder in the 100 meter dash.
Unfortunately, you need your brains to run.


I considered posting several others, but in the past this game has gotten extremely vulgar and I was hoping to post one that didn’t go that way (don’t let this scare you from going that way if it works for you, though). Be aware that although they must rotate, you can start with either fortunately or unfortunately…whichever works better for your pieces.

Each judge will do a forced curve (6, 5, 4, 4, 3, 3, 3, 2, 2, 2, 1, 1, 1) for his own starting line, giving each person two scores, and Immunity works as it always does (including the non-submitter caveat).

Your starting lines are:

Spookymilk:
I gave up smoking a few hours ago.

Beau:
Mary had a little lamb.

Alright, edited to add Beau’s starter sentence. Sorry about that, homeboys. Does anyone mind if I blame either tiredness or beer?

Cheers, dudes. This challenge usually comes out pretty great.